Former Jets make preliminary World Cup squad

The club congratulates the four former Jets players named in Pim Verbeek's 31-man squad.

The Newcastle Jets would like to congratulate all players named by Pim Verbeek today in the preliminary 31-man Qantas Socceroos squad ahead of the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

In particular, the club extends its congratulations to former Jets- Nicky Carle, Jade North, James Holland and Mark Milligan who have all made the extended squad. The club has been fortunate to have had the services of these players over the past five years of the Hyundai A-League, and we wish them all the very best as they look to fulfil their dream of competing on the world-s biggest stage.

The Qantas Socceroos will depart Australia on May 26 before taking on Germany in their opening match of the tournament on Sunday, 13 June. Matches against Ghana and Serbia on June 19 and 23 respectively will round out the group stage of the competition.

Qantas Socceroos- 31-man preliminary squad for 2010 FIFA World Cup: Player Name Club, Country Michael BEAUCHAMP Al-Jazira Club, UAE Mark BRESCIANO U.S. Citta di Palermo, Italy Tim CAHILL Everton FC, England Nick CARLE Crystal Palace, England David CARNEY FC Twente, Netherlands Scott CHIPPERFIELD FC Basel, Switzerland Jason CULINA Gold Coast United, Australia Brett EMERTON Blackburn Rovers, England Adam FEDERICI Reading FC, England Eugene GALEKOVIC Adelaide United, Australia Richard GARCIA Hull City, England Vincenzo GRELLA Blackburn Rovers, England James HOLLAND AZ Alkmaar, Netherlands Brett HOLMAN AZ Alkmaar, Netherlands Mile JEDINAK Antalyaspor Kulubu, Turkey Brad JONES Middlesbrough FC, England Josh KENNEDY Nagoya Grampus, Japan Harry KEWELL Galatasaray SK, Turkey Shane LOWRY Aston Villa FC, England - Scott MCDONALD Middlesbrough FC, England Mark MILLIGAN JEF United, Japan Craig MOORE Uncontracted Lucas NEILL Galatasaray SK, Turkey Jade NORTH Tromsø, Norway Tom OAR FC Utrecht, Netherlands Nikita RUKAVYTSYA FC Twente, Netherlands Mark SCHWARZER Fulham FC, England Carl VALERI U.S. Sassuolo Calcio, Italy Dario VIDOSIC FC Nurnberg, Germany Luke WILKSHIRE FK Dinamo Moscow, Russia Rhys WILLIAMS Middlesbrough FC, England