Jets name 17-man squad

On Wednesday the Jets named a 17-man squad for Friday night's Week 16 game against the Wellington Phoenix.

The Hunter Ports Newcastle Jets named a 17-man squad on Wednesday for Friday night's Week 16 game against the Wellington Phoenix at Ausgrid Stadium.

Jobe Wheelhouse resumed training this week and has been included in the extended squad whilst Tarek Elrich returns from suspension. Young defender Connor Chapman, who has just signed with the Jets makes his way into the extended squad.

The Jets are without defender Tiago Calvano, who received his fifth yellow card last weekend whilst Francis Jeffers continues to be sidelined with an ankle injury.

After two unhappy games on Wellington's home turf this season, the Jets will be looking to notch up their first win against the Phoenix when they host them on Friday night.

The Jets encourage all Members attending this Friday night to set out a little earlier and watch the Jets Youth team in action against the AIS. It is their only appearance before the A-League team this season and there will be some fine young talent on display. Gates open at 5.10pm for their 5.15pm kick-off.

Newcastle Jets 17-man squad: Ben Kennedy, Taylor Regan, Nikolai Topor-Stanley, Ben Kantarovski, Jeremy Brockie, Michael Bridges, Ruben Zadkovich, Tarek Elrich, Jobe Wheelhouse, Sung-Hwan Byun, Labinot Haliti, Marko Jesic, Matthew Nash, Ali Abbas, Ryan Griffiths, Jacob Pepper, Connor Chapman.