Oxborrow and Cowburn in Young Socceroos squad

Mitch Oxborrow and Nick Cowburn have been selected in the Young Socceroos squad for the upcoming AFC U-19 Championship Qualifiers.

Hunter Ports Newcastle Jets players Mitch Oxborrow and Nick Cowburn have been selected in the Young Socceroos squad for the upcoming AFC U-19 Championship Qualifiers in Malaysia.

Head Coach Paul Okon selected a 23-player squad for the upcoming tournament, which will be held in Kuala Lumpur from 3-7 October 2013.

Okon has selected 16 Australian-based players from the Hyundai A-League clubs and the Australian Institute of Sport and 7 overseas-based players from England, Italy and Spain.

With the benefit of a number of tournaments and training camps together, Okon is optimistic about his team-s prospects.

“This will be the first time that we will have overseas-based and Australian-based groups of players together for the tournament,” said Okon

“This is the first formal step in the qualification campaign for the FIFA U-20 World Cup and our goal for this tournament is to top the group.

“The conditions in Malaysia will be tough, with high heat and humidity expected.

“For this reason, we have chosen to arrive in Kuala Lumpur early to acclimatize and prepare ourselves for the tournament,” concluded Okon.

The Young Socceroos will depart Australia this Friday and will line-up against Hong Kong in their first match of the tournament on Thursday 3 October. The Young Socceroos will then face Chinese Taipei (Saturday 5 October) and Vietnam (Monday 7 October).

The Group winners of the nine groups (five from West Zone and four from the East Zone) along with the six best-placed sides and hosts Myanmar will qualify for the AFC U-19 Championship which will be held in October 2014.

The AFC U-19 Championship also serve as the qualifiers for the FIFA U-20 World Cup with the top-four sides of the 2014 edition booking a place each in the FIFA U-20 World Cup to be held in New Zealand in 2015.

Young Socceroos squad for AFC U-19 Championship Qualifiers: Jake Adelson (Everton FC, England) Jordan Brown (Melbourne Victory, Australia) Christopher Cristaldo (Melbourne Victory, Australia) Nicholas Cowburn (Newcastle Jets, Australia) Callum Elder (Leicester City, England) Daniel De Silva (Perth Glory, Australia) Ben Garuccio (Melbourne Heart, Australia) Christopher Ikonimidis (SS Lazio, Italy) Rafael Jimenez (Villarreal CF, Spain) Anthony Kalik (AIS, Australia) Scott Galloway (Melbourne Victory, Australia) Hagi Gligor (Sydney FC, Australia) Jordan Lyden (Aston Villa, England) Stefan Mauk (Melbourne Heart, Australia) Thomas Manos (gk) (Western Sydney Wanderers, Australia) Joshua McDonald (Sydney FC, Australia) Christopher Naumoff (Sydney FC, Australia) Danijel Nizic (gk) (Burnley FC, England) Nicholas Olsen (Western Sydney Wanderers, Australia) Mitchell Oxborrow (Newcastle Jets, Australia) Luke Radonich (gk) (Melbourne Victory, Australia) Peter Skapetis (QPR, England) Benjamin Warland (AIS, Australia)